A to Z

From A to Z

Create a short story, piece of memoir, or epic poem that is 26 sentences long, in which the first sentence begins with “A” and each sentence thereafter begins with the next letter of the alphabet.

A simple “Hello” on a tiny phone screen was how it all began.

Butterflies raged inside my stomach as I replied, “hi” not knowing what to expect.

Creating a new friendship with someone without a face.

Details flowing, learning of another life, another country

Every point carefully stored in a mind yearning to make a connection.

Falling hard and fast into emotions that laid dormant in a broken heart.

Growing love in what seemed like barren wasteland.

Hunger to connect and create something new together.

I never, ever expected to feel like this again.

Just one Hello was all it took and it scares me to pieces that in reality I don’t know who this person is.

Knowing only the things that he tells me.

Loving only the person he has allowed me to know.

Making my heartbeat faster and slower at the same time.

Never saying the wrong thing and making me have withdrawals during our sleep hours.

On the other side of the world beats a heart that mine wants to call its own.

Passing the time waiting for you to reply.

Quelling these feelings is becoming close to impossible

Reaching for you through a keyboard is the only way I have to touch you.

Scrolling through a conversation to relive it and make myself smile when you are gone.

Time working against us as I look at the moon, I know you see the sun.

Uncut and raw emotions flow from this broken heart.

Vexed by the idea that you could disappear and all of this could end.

Waiting for you to wake to say good night to me as I lay in bed and you are waking up for your new day.

X-rated thoughts fill my head as I think about you.

Yearning to be held in arms that will never come close to me.

Zealous love raging as I lay here, thinking of you.

Leave a Reply

