Daily Writing Prompt 7/21/15

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Always Something There to Remind Me.”

A song comes on the radio and instantly, you’re transported to a different time and place. Which song(s) bring back memories for you and why? Be sure to mention the song, and describe the memory it evokes.

First thing is first: I am a music junkie. I love most genres, if not all, so I had to think a little harder. I then thought about those pivotal moments when life changes drastically. Think sunshine and butterflies and suddenly, without warning, a tornado destroying that scene. Events like that change us emotionally, but in the long run, they teach us more about our own strength. The song that I came up with is by My Heart Is The Worst Kind Of Weapon by Fall Out Boy.

This song brings back feelings of heartbreak and sadness. It became the anthem of my breakup with my high school sweetheart of 6 years. He was my first love and he truly broke my heart. 6 years is no joke, especially when you think you’re going to spend the rest of your life with that person. The hardest part of the break up wasn’t just the fact that I had lost the love of my life, at the time, I lost his family too, I loved all of them and they had become a huge and supportive part of my life. We did everything together and to go from having a second family to not having them at all was really a painful experience.

This experience drove me into a very deep depression. I drank. A lot. I cried. A lot. I lost weight and I lost myself. One of the lines that speaks volumes of that time in my life is this one:

“Empty another bottle / and let me tear you to pieces / this is me wishing you / into the worst situations”

I held a lot of anger towards him. What made it worse was that there was someone else in his life a week after he left me in the ruins of my shattered heart. What’s even worse than that? Once I was getting better, he wanted to come back into my life as if he had made some kind of mistake. By then, I had a better sense of self-worth and I had discovered things about myself that were new to me. When you date someone for that long you become that person. I’m not saying you lose your identity, you’re simply enriched by that person’s likes and dislikes and hobbies.

This was a dark time in my life, but I became better because of it. I learned how to be me and because I was me, and not a reflection of him, I was able to give myself the opportunity to love again, I was able to give that love a better me. I still listen to this song on occasion and now it brings me joy because I know how far I have come.

Leave a Reply

