Writing Prompt #1

Describe a recurring dream you have.

I never quite have the same dream. It is however, the same theme. It’s always apocalyptic. I am also always thinking about the same thing. I’m always thinking about my family and what I can do to keep them out of harm’s way. I’ve dreamt about the world flooding. I’ve dreamt about the world burning. I’ve dreamt of the sun bursting and destroying everything as we know it. I’ve dreamt of large asteroid heading for earth. I’ve dreamt about a species more intelligent than ours that takes us over and enslaving us. But at the end of it all, all I can think about is saving my family and getting them to safety. It’s always a race against time. Time in these dreams tend to go slow and fast at the same time. Even then, no matter what I do it all seems hopeless. I feel as though no matter how hard I try, I can’t save my family. It is the strongest feeling of hopelessness until I wake up and realize that none of it was real.

Leave a Reply

